INNOVATION

Local solutions to local challenges

Slider

FILNOV : a greener filtration system

In France, about five million homes are equipped with an on-site wastewater treatment system (OWTS), which represents 20% of the population. Recent regulatory developments have opened up a range of possibilities for possible treatment systems for treating wastewater.

In this context, ITREN has been working for 10 years to develop a system for treating domestic wastewater from lignocellulosic biomass derived from by-products of local agriculture: FILNOV. Indeed, finding local solutions allows, on the one hand, the reduction of the carbon footprint due to the transport of the material, and on the other hand, an adaptation of FILNOV to any geographical context (national or international).

Sustainable development

Treatment of domestic wastewater exclusively with natural agro-industrial by-products.

Local entrepreneurial spirit

Involving local farmers, reducing the carbon footprint.

Environmental innovation

Innovative bench and lab-pilot tests are used to determine potentials materials for biofiltration.

Transformations

Materials are used as is; no chemical changes are performed, physical transformations if necessary.

The filter developed is involved in the solving of the dual problem of on-site wastewater treatment system (OWTS) and the valorization of agro-industrial by-products. The idea is to propose alternative solutions to the classical materials used in such treatment processes (peat, coconut, among others) which are hardly available while maintaining equivalent or superior performances. The system includes an all-water pit that allows the collection and pretreatment of raw wastewater, then the filtration module in which the effluent is actively treated aerobically, independently, without any electromechanical equipment.

The system allows treating all wastewater on-site while ensuring respect for the environment and reject standards.

Our research partners

For more than 10 years of research with the Laboratory of Agro-Industrial Chemistry (UMR 1010), the Laboratory of Chemical Engineering (UMR 5503) and the support of Véolia Water and the ANRT, we have determined innovative bench tests to determine if the locally grown fiber is suitable for wastewater filtration. Our goal is to bring the rural world closer to the urban world by involving farmers in a sustainable approach. This filtration process makes it possible to recycle lignocellulosic by-products that could not be recovered beforehand. Two PhD theses have been completed for the development of technology (Breton, 2013, Villalobos García, 2018). Experts in the field, situate the degree of maturity of this technological innovation between 5 and 6 in the scale TRL (Technology Readiness Level).

INNOVATION

Local solutions to local challenges

Slider

FILNOV : Une filtration plus écologique

En France, environ cinq millions de logements sont équipés d’un système d’assainissement non collectif (ANC), ce qui représente 20 % de la population. Les récentes évolutions réglementaires ont ouvert un éventail de possibilités quant aux systèmes de traitement possibles pour traiter les eaux usées.

Dans ce contexte, ITREN travaille depuis 10 ans pour développer un système de traitement des eaux usées domestiques à partir de biomasse végétale issue de sous-produits de l’agriculture locale: FILNOV. En effet, trouver des solutions locales permet, d’une part, de réduire le bilan carbone dû à l’acheminement du matériau, et d’autre part, de pouvoir adapter FILNOV à tout contexte géographique (national ou international).

Développement durable

Traitement des eaux usées domestiques exclusivement avec des sous-produits issus de l'agriculture.

Entrepreneuriat local

Impliquer les agriculteurs locaux à la réduction de l'empreinte carbone.

Innovation environnementale

Utilisation d'un banc d'essai et de pilotes en laboratoire pour déterminer les matériaux potentiellement aptes à la bio-filtration.

Zéro transformation

Les matériaux sont utilisés comme tels, sans transformation chimique.

Le filtre développé s’inscrit dans la double problématique de l’assainissement non collectif (ANC) et de la valorisation de sous-produits et coproduits agro-alimentaires. L’idée est de proposer des solutions alternatives aux matériaux classiques utilisés dans de tels procédés de traitement (tourbe, coco, entre autres) qui rencontrent des problèmes de disponibilité, tout en maintenant des performances équivalentes ou supérieures. La filière comprend une fosse toutes eaux qui permet la collecte et le prétraitement des eaux usées brutes, puis le module de filtration dans lequel l’effluent est fortement épuré par voie aérobie, de façon autonome, sans le moindre équipement électromécanique.

C’est ainsi une filière qui permet de traiter sur place toutes les eaux usées tout en assurant le respect de l’environnement et les normes de rejet.

Nos partenaires de recherche

Pendant plus de 10 années de recherche avec le Laboratoire de Chimie Agro-industrielle (UMR 1010), le Laboratoire de Génie Chimique (UMR 5503) et le soutien de Véolia Eau et de l'ANRT, nous avons déterminé un banc d'essai innovant permettant de déterminer si les fibres cultivées localement sont aptes à la filtration des eaux usées. Notre objectif est de rapprocher le monde rural du monde urbain, en associant les agriculteurs à une démarche durable. Ce procédé de filtration permet de recycler des sous-produits végétaux qui ne pouvaient pas être valorisés auparavant. Deux thèses de doctorat ont été ainsi réalisées pour le développement de la technologie (Breton, 2013 ; Villalobos García, 2018). Des experts dans le domaine, situent le dégrée de maturité de cette innovation technologique entre 5 et 6 dans l’échelle TRL (Technology Readyness Level).